Winnipeg Arts Council Inc.

Board of directors


The Winnipeg Arts Council Inc. is an independent not-for-profit Corporation, created and mandated by the City to:

  • manage and carry out the City’s arts and cultural funding programs;
  • advise the City on cultural policy;
  • explore partnerships and initiatives with other funding bodies, foundations and groups;
  • present an Annual Report and Audited Financial Statement;
  • develop and maintain a cooperative relationship with all City departments and staff working in cultural areas.


Elected Official

  • Councillor Chambers

Council Directors (appointed by City Council)

    Appointments for a 2-year term to expire December 31, 2024:

    • Donna Fletcher
    • Darrel Nadeau 
    • Liz Wreford 

    Appointments for a 2-year term to expire December 31, 2025:

    • Ian August 
    • Laurel Howard
    • Julie Penner 

    Arts Community Directors (appointed by WAC)

    • Andrew McLaren, Chair
    • Kerry Dangerfield, Secretary/Treasurer (Arts Community Director - Large-sized Organizations)
    • Jason Granger, Past Chair
    • Seema Goel, Arts Community Director - Small-sized Organizations
    • Bola Opaleke, Arts Community Director - Individual Artists
    • Erica Wilson, Arts Community Director - Medium-sized Organizations
    • Ben Williams, Arts Community Director - Project Grant Organizations
    • Vonnie Von Helmolt, Chair Emerita

    City Administration Representative (non-voting)



    By-law No. 1 of the Winnipeg Arts Council Inc.; and the City of Winnipeg Cultural Policy adopted by Council on October 18, 2000 (Part 6 of the By-law was amended by Council on July 27, 2005)

    Reporting Authority

    Standing Policy Committee on Protection and Community Services


    Not less than 11 and not more than 15 Directors:

    • 4 to 6 Council Directors (citizens-at-large appointed by Council)
    • 4 to 6 Arts Community Directors (elected by and from arts constituent groups or disciplines comprising the Arts Community Members
    • 1 City Representative (the Chairperson of the Standing Policy Committee on Protection and Community Services or his/her delegate, provided such delegate is a member of City Council)
    • 1 member of the City administration (non-voting capacity)


    Carol A. Phillips, Executive Director
    103 – 110 Princess St.
    Winnipeg, MB R3B 1K7



    Last update

    Was this information helpful?

    How can we make this web page better?

    Information collected will be used to improve our website. Do not use this form to submit a request for service or information because it will not be forwarded to departments for response. To submit a request for service or information, contact 311.

    This form is not intended to collect personal information; however, any personal information you choose to include in your comments is collected by the City of Winnipeg under the authority of section 36(1)(b) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act for the purpose of improving our website and will not be used or disclosed for any other purposes, except as authorized by law. Contact the Corporate Access and Privacy Officer by mail (City Clerk’s Department, Susan A. Thompson Building, 510 Main Street, Winnipeg MB, R3B 1B9) or by telephone (311) if you have any questions about the collection of this information.