Site Accessibility Information Access Key 1 to Skip to Top Navigation Access Key 2 to Skip to the Three One One link Access Key 3 to Skip to City of Winnipeg Main Menu Access Key 4 to Skip to Left Navigation Menu Access Key 5 to Skip to Content area Access Key 6 to Skip to Right Sidebar content area Access Key 7 to Skip to Footer Links
City of Winnipeg
|  Link to the City of Winnipeg French websiteFrançais  |

City Clerk's

Election Services

The City of Winnipeg Charter requires that a general election for members of Council be held on the fourth Wednesday of October every four years. The Mayor is elected at large. All eligible voters in the City of Winnipeg are entitled to cast one vote for the Office of Mayor. One Councillor is elected from each of the 15 wards which comprise the City of Winnipeg. Eligible voters cast one vote for the Office of Councillor in their respective wards.

In addition to conducting the election for Mayor and Councillors, the City Clerk’s Department runs elections for School Trustees on behalf of the following school divisions within the boundaries of the City of Winnipeg:

  • Louis Riel School Division
  • Pembina Trails School Division
  • River East Transcona School Division
  • St. James – Assiniboia School Division
  • Seven Oaks School Division
  • Winnipeg School Division

Each School Division is divided into a certain number of wards and more than one candidate may be elected to the Office of School Trustee for each ward.

The last general election in Winnipeg was held on Wednesday, October 22, 2014, for the offices of Mayor, Councillors and School Trustees. You may peruse Election 2014 particulars and the official results by viewing the 2014 Election Website.

The next general Civic Election will be held in October, 2018.

On occasion by-elections are called to fill vacancies for the Office of Mayor, Councillor or School Trustees. Provisions for by-elections are outlined in The City of Winnipeg Charter and The Municipal Councils and School Boards Elections Act.

A School Trustee by-election was held June 11, 2016.

By-election particulars as well as official results are also available in the Election Archive.

Where to Find Us

City of Winnipeg Election Office
Susan A. Thompson Building
510 Main Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 1B9
Phone: 311
Fax: 311

Last update: June 21, 2016