Site Accessibility Information Access Key 1 to Skip to Top Navigation Access Key 2 to Skip to the Three One One link Access Key 3 to Skip to City of Winnipeg Main Menu Access Key 4 to Skip to Left Navigation Menu Access Key 5 to Skip to Content area Access Key 6 to Skip to Right Sidebar content area Access Key 7 to Skip to Footer Links
City of Winnipeg
|  Link to the City of Winnipeg French websiteFrançais  |
Pathways to Winnipeg history
PastForward: Winnipeg's digital history
History of Winnipeg

City Government

Paintings of Mayors past and present, City of Winnipeg Photo

Mayors, Past and Present

The Gallery of Mayors, surrounding the Council Chamber, contains portraits of the Mayors who served Winnipeg throughout its history. Up to 1955, the Mayor was elected for a one year term. From then until 1972, the term of office was for two years. After unification of the city in 1972, the term was extended to three years. In1998 the term of office was extended to four years.

From the date of its incorporation in the year 1873:

1874 Francis Evans Cornish, Q. C. 1887-88 Lyman Melvin Jones
1875-76 William Nassau Kennedy 1889 Thomas Ryan
1877-78 Thomas Scott 1890-91 Alfred Pearson
1879 - 80 Alexander Logan 1892 Alexander Macdonald
1881 Elias George Conklin 1893 - 94 Thomas William Taylor
1882 Alexander Logan 1895 Thomas Gilroy
1883 Alexander McMicken 1896 Richard Willis Jameson
1884 Alexander Logan 1897 William F. McCreary
1885 Charles Edward Hamilton 1898 - 99 Alfred Joseph Andrews
1886 Henry Shaver Wesbrook    

1900 Horace Wilson 1928 - 29 Lt. Col. Dan McLean
1901 - 03 John Arbuthnot 1930 - 34 Lt. Col. Ralph Humphreys Webb, D.S.O., M.C.
1904 - 06 Thomas Sharpe 1935 - 36 John Queen, M. L. A.
1907 - 08 James Henry Ashdown 1937 Frederick Edgar Warriner, D. D. S.
1909 - 11 William Sanford Evans 1938 - 40 John Queen, M. L. A.
1912 Richard Deans Waugh 1941 - 42 John Queen
1913 - 14 Thomas Russ Deacon 1943 - 54 Garnet Coulter, Q. C.
1915 - 16 Richard Deans Waugh 1955 - 56 George Edward Sharpe
1917 David J. Dyson
Unseated on recount, January 5, 1917
Frederick Harvey Davidson
Declared elected on recount, January 8, 1917
1957 - 59 Stephen Juba, M. L. A.
1918 Frederick Harvey Davidson 1960 - 77 Stephen Juba, OC
1919 - 20 Charles Frederick Gray 1977 - 79 Robert Steen, Q. C.
Died May 10th, 1979
William Norrie, Q. C.
Elected June 21st, 1979
1921 Edward Parnell 1979 - 92 William Norrie, Q. C.
1922 Edward Parnell
Died June 9th, 1922
Frank Oliver Fowler
Elected June 20th, 1922
1992 - 98 Susan A. Thompson
1923 - 24 Seymour James Farmer 1998 - 99 Glen Murray
1925 - 27 Lt. Col. Ralph Humphries Webb, D.S.O., M.C.    

2000 - 2004 Glen Murray 2014 - present Brian Bowman
2004 - 2014 Sam Katz    
Last up November 5, 2014

Was this information helpful?

How can we make this web page better?

Information collected will be used to improve our website. Do not use this form to submit a request for service or information because it will not be forwarded to departments for response. To submit a request for service or information, contact 311.

This form is not intended to collect personal information; however, any personal information you choose to include in your comments is collected by the City of Winnipeg under the authority of section 36(1)(b) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act for the purpose of improving our website and will not be used or disclosed for any other purposes, except as authorized by law. Contact the Corporate Access and Privacy Officer by mail (City Clerk’s Department, Susan A. Thompson Building, 510 Main Street, Winnipeg MB, R3B 1B9) or by telephone (311) if you have any questions about the collection of this information.

Ces renseignements sont-ils utiles?

Comment pourrait-on améliorer cette page Web?

Les renseignements recueillis serviront à l’amélioration de notre site Web. Prière de ne pas se servir de ce formulaire pour soumettre une demande de service ou de renseignements, car la demande ne sera pas transmise au service en question. Pour soumettre une demande de service ou de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le 311.

Le présent formulaire ne vise pas à recueillir des renseignements personnels. Cependant, les renseignements personnels que vous choisissez d’inclure dans vos commentaires sont recueillis par la Ville de Winnipeg en conformité avec l’alinéa 36(1)b) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée dans le but d’améliorer son site Web et ne seront ni utilisés ni divulgués pour d’autres raisons, sauf dans les cas où cela est autorisé par la loi. Communiquez avec l’agent de l’accès à l’information et de la protection de la vie privée de la Ville par courrier au Bureau du greffier, immeuble Susan-A.-Thompson, 510, rue Main, Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3B 1B9, ou par téléphone au 311 si vous avez des questions sur la collecte de ces renseignements.