Javascript Menu by Deluxe-Menu.com City of Winnipeg 2010 Election
Français
2010 Election Header

2010 CIVIC ELECTION
IMPORTANT DATES

2010

Monday, May 3  Registration opens for candidates for Mayor.
Wednesday, June 30  Registration opens for candidates for Councillor.
Saturday, September 4

Nomination Notice appears in newspapers.
Election signs may be erected.

Wednesday, September 15   Nomination Period begins - Senior Election Official begins accepting Nomination Papers during business hours up until 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, September 21, 2010, including on Saturday, September 18 and Sunday, September 19.
Information package supplied to each candidate who files a Nomination Paper.
Tuesday, September 21 Nomination Period ends - Senior Election Official will accept Nomination Papers until 4:30 p.m.
List of Candidates posted in the Council Building and on the election website.
Wednesday, September 22

Deadline for Withdrawal - Candidates may withdraw their nomination, in writing, until 4:30 p.m.
Random draw at 6:00 p.m. to determine the order in which candidates' names will appear on the ballot.

Saturday, October 2 Public Notice of Election, including Names of Nominated Candidates, Hours of Voting, Advance Voting, Voting by Sealed Envelope Ballot, ID requirements, etc. appears in newspapers.
Monday, October 4    Advance Voting opens at City Hall, Council Building, 510 Main Street.  
Monday, October 4   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 5    1:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 6   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 7   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Friday, October 8    9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, October 9  9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 12    9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 13 1:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 14   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Friday, October 15  9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, October 16 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Monday, October 18 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 19   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 20   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 21 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday, October 22   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Further Advance Voting opportunities will take place during the month of October.

Monday, October 11 Thanksgiving Monday - City Hall and Voting Places closed for Statutory Holiday.
Friday, October 22 Advance Voting closes at City Hall at 4:00 p.m.
Deadline for Senior Election Official to accept applications to vote by Sealed Envelope Ballot.

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 27  ELECTION DAY - 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.                     

Thursday, October 28 DECLARATION OF ELECTION RESULTS by Senior Election Official.
Tuesday, November 2  Term of Office for elected candidates begins with the Inaugural Meeting at 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, November 3    Deadline for removal of Campaign Signs.
Wednesday, November 10   Deadline for application of Judicial Recount by Voter or a Candidate.
Monday, December 27

Deadline for application to the Court of Queen’s Bench challenging results of the election.

Deadline to file Audited Financial Statement for those candidates who did not file a Nomination Paper or who withdrew.

2011                     

Thursday, March 31     Campaign Period ends for candidates.
Wednesday, May 25   Deadline to file Audited Financial Statement for those candidates who filed a Nomination Paper and who did not withdraw.
Tuesday, December 27     Deadline for contributors to submit Rebate Applications.